Man’s work hold between sessions

  • 1 Replies
Man’s work hold between sessions
« on: October 19, 2014, 03:22:43 PM »
I’m playing Sagas of the Icelanders and, during the last session, we had a doubt.

The man’s player had 1 hold spared from the previous session. At the beginning of the new session, he rolled Man’s work again with a 7-9 and so he said: “Well, now I have 2 holds.” I asked him why and he told me that, in his opinion, you can sum the sparing holds from previous sessions to the new ones.

Instead, my opinion is that every time you roll Man’s work you have to discard the old holds, before.

Which is the right interpretation of the rules?

Re: Man’s work hold between sessions
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2014, 08:27:49 AM »
On the Google+ Sagas of the Icelanders community I got this answer:

Quote from: Andy Hauge
As with hold in any AW-based game, you reset it each time you hold the move. If you want help finding that in the text, pay heed to how the moves are worded: it's not "hold +X", it's "hold X". If you have hold 1, and the move tells you to hold 2, then you set your hold to 2.?

Then, rereading the manual, I found this line of text:

Quote from: Sagas of the Icelanders, p. 14
Unless specified otherwise, an unspent hold never carries over to the next session.

I suppose my doubt is resolved, then.