Question on rotes

  • 3 Replies
  • 4227 Views
*

bpm

  • 12
Question on rotes
« on: August 11, 2012, 05:49:45 PM »
As I understand it, rotes can be cast any time, any number of times.  Is this incorrect?  I ask because the Cleric can take First Aid as an advanced move, making Cure Light Wounds a rote.  If that's the case, does that mean a Cleric, after a battle, can go to every character and keep Curing Light Wounds until they are back to max HP?


Re: Question on rotes
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2012, 08:31:05 PM »
Well, you have to roll to cast a rote or cantrip. (I asked about that before.) So you're taking the risks involved in rolling the dice.

Re: Question on rotes
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2012, 09:20:20 PM »
Rotes are spells just like any other, they just don't use up your "level + 1" spell slots.

Remember also that, rote or not, as long as the cleric never chooses the "lose the spell" option on a 7-9 hit and as long as the GM doesn't decide to have him lose the spell on a miss (use up their resources), the cleric can already go from person to person casting CLW after the fight.

*

bpm

  • 12
Re: Question on rotes
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2012, 09:47:04 AM »
Thanks all.  For some reason I thought rotes didn't need a die role.