The Psion - My First Try

• 40 Replies
The Psion - My First Try
« on: July 05, 2012, 08:46:03 PM »
I'm going to keep trying to post until it lets me!

This is my first try at making a new class...  I'm mostly just musing out some thoughts at this point, this is a very early tentative idea and I'm sort of flailing around.  Also, I did NOT expect this post to go through, this is my third attempt to post it.

So, if you all don’t mind, I think I’m going to give my first attempt at a Dungeon World Hack a try, here.  Now, I’ve seen lots of people mention that they’d like to make a Hack of the Psion, but no completed DW Psions yet, so, with that in mind, I’m gonna try and work on something here.

So, the first question about the Psion is “What is important about the Psion?”, “What part of this class is indispensable?”  When Sage and Adam asked that question about the Druid, they came to the conclusion that, while Druids have always been spellcasters, spellcasting was always a vestigial trait and shapeshifting was the real Core of Druidism.  So, while Druids can gain access to spells if they want to, all Druids can change their shape.  Spells are not necessary.

We can’t say that about Psions.  Psions are spellcasters; that’s their niche.  What has always separated them from Wizards, in Fantasy Gaming, has been a different spell-usage mechanic.  They’ve always been differently flavored Wizards with power points.  So, with that in mind, we can’t get rid of their Spellcasting power without making them just plain not a Psion.  But we have to make them more than just Wizards with crystals, or they’re boring and unnecessary, and I’d hate to add something unnecessary to Dungeon World.