[AP] Carver's Cave

• 5 Replies

noofy

[AP] Carver's Cave
« on: February 11, 2012, 01:36:02 AM »
So, I've been on leave and got a chance to 'sell' and play through the villager playbook with an old hand at D&D (3.5) and a complete noob to roleplaying with great success! 'Trouble' the halfling (as in here comes Trouble) played by the noobie and 'Al' the dark? Elf (the player is a Wil Wheaton fan) by the D&Der.

They have spent two short sessions finding their goodwill in the heaving Port Blacksand (from Fighting Fantasy fame). After much skulking about avoiding the law and the clutches of the local thieves guild, (stolen from the Spanterhook starter) the daring duo ended up with some strong bonds and even stronger motives to leave town.

Trouble levelled up to thief and Al to a ranger using the new beta 1.1 rules. I decided to play RAW in order to give some feedback to Sage and Adam. So we went through Chargen with our backstories in mind, '1st' session principles and agenda in play. I grabbed a whole stack of Dyson's maps and printed the map on side and the 'blurb' he introduces them with on the other on an A3 page. This leaves lots of room around the map to write on other stuff or add sticky notes for relationships.

Chargen was a breeze, and I'm getting rather proficent now at letting the players do their thing and really ask some pointed questions to set up the starting situation. We already had established the stat blocks and alignments from the villager session.  Both players got the 7-9 hit on leaving home for the life of adventure.

Arwen (the elf) chose You’ve been rejected by the village. You no longer belong here, and maybe never will. Narrating that the thieves guild has no use of elfy, rangery types and she should head back to where she came from. The player really liked playing up the theme of alienation and predjudice, thus getting Arwen voted in as chaotic good.