Newbie Questions -- Newbie Keeper

• 3 Replies
Newbie Questions -- Newbie Keeper
« on: February 23, 2019, 10:44:38 PM »
Hello, I’m a newbie with questions about running MotW. This will be my first time as a GM for any game, and I have never played MotW before, but it looks like a good game to start with.
Here are my questions:

1) When a hunter creates a weapon, am I correct in assuming that the harm is the total of the business end plus the form? Also, how would you handle it if a hunter wants to use the handle of a weapon or butt of a gun to knock someone out?

2) How would you handle a hunter attempting to bash open a door or destroy an inanimate object?

3) For combat magic, it says pick three with at least one base. Does this mean that they can create something with more than one base? That seems too powerful—like a blast wall?

4) How would you handle a swarm? For instant, if you have three hunters and nine rats that can do 1 point of harm, and they Kick Some Ass, does each hunter take 1 point of harm for a miss, or does he take 1 point of harm for each rat on him? Does he KSA for each rat (which seems like it would take a lot of time) or can we can assume, say, 3 rats on each person?

5) Can a hunter choose not to take an advance if it is the only one left, such as retiring or creating a base?

6) How many rounds are in a minute? For example, in the MotW book, the Mongolian death worm does 1 point every 5 minutes. How does that work?

7) Lastly, does anyone have custom monsters that can be downloaded? Or a Creature Features supplement.

Thank you in advance!

Munin

Re: Newbie Questions -- Newbie Keeper
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2019, 06:05:21 PM »
1) Yup, you got it.