Spores and ideas for them

• 6 Replies

Amora

Spores and ideas for them
« on: July 30, 2015, 12:47:51 PM »
So, it's my first time MCing Apocalypse World and I figure, well, the best way to get the players (particularly MY players) pumped for the session is to give them some input in what this whole thing is about.

I had asked them all beforehand what playbooks they were interested in, so I knew what to print. My sister knew she wanted to be the Hardholder from the second I told her about them, my mom wasn't sure between Angel or Savvyhead, and my brother wanted to look through a whopping 4 playbooks (Chopper, Hocus, Gunlugger, and Driver.)

We ended up with Orchid the Hardholder, Grey the Angel, and Omosho the Hocus.
But before we even get to character creation, as I'm handing out the playbooks, I say "Alright, guys, here are the playbooks you were interested in. Look through 'em, but keep this at the back of your head- before we start, I want you each to give me one or two things that are different in the world now than they used to be. A way things are done, or a literal change to the way the world actually works as a whole."

This yielded amazing results, for me- my brother decided "Well, there's spores. They go off every morning in the summer, and effect everyone differently when they breathe them in." and then my mom added on "Yeah, everyone went underground at some point. The spores have changed everything, warped the way the world grows. Up until about 5 years ago we didn't know it was safe to come up, so we've just been hiding in our caves until then."

The group decided to change it to 7 years, and that we'd start out in the summer, because that's when Omosho goes down into the holding. My brother wanted a reason he could have his weird cult make people uneasy.