Are modifiers cumulative?

  • 5 Replies
  • 3175 Views
*

Suna

  • 28
Are modifiers cumulative?
« on: December 21, 2010, 04:14:13 PM »
Pretty straightforward. If I take 1 ongoing and, say, some other situation makes me take 1 ongoing, do I take 2 ongoing?
If I take 1 ongoing and then something gives me 1 forward, do i take 2 in my next roll and 1 ongoing until the first condition fades off?
Or do such conditions overwrite each other?
Same question for negative modifiers.

I'm sorry but I can find no mention in the manual, maybe I'm searching the wrong chapter...
"The Moving Finger writes: and, having writ, /Moves on: nor all thy Piety nor Wit /Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line, /Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it."

--Omar Khayyam, Rubaiyat

*

lumpley

  • 1286
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2010, 04:25:30 PM »
They're cumulative.

*

Suna

  • 28
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2010, 05:57:18 AM »
Thank you for the quick reply!
"The Moving Finger writes: and, having writ, /Moves on: nor all thy Piety nor Wit /Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line, /Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it."

--Omar Khayyam, Rubaiyat

*

lumpley

  • 1286
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2010, 02:23:33 PM »
Sure!

Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2011, 05:28:01 PM »
Does this also work for, say, acting on the MC's answers?

If you're "acting on" three of the MC's answers, do you add +3 to your roll?

*

lumpley

  • 1286
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2011, 08:38:15 PM »
Nope. The wording of the move rules that out.

-Vincent