Making Friends and Influencing Your Peers

• 7 Replies
Making Friends and Influencing Your Peers
« on: June 11, 2013, 04:18:01 AM »
There is a move that I feel like is missing from Monsterhearts: making people like you. Not like-like you, necessarily. It's not when you turn them on. It's more...like...

A real world example:

When I was a freshman in college I befriended an older philosophy major. He took me under his wing, in a way. I thought he was the bee's knees. I idolized him and everything he did. He was cool, he was smart, he was suave, he was sexy, and I wanted to be just like him. It wasn't sexual (well, okay, it was a little sexual, but I hero-worshiped him much more than I fantasized about him), but he had me wrapped around his finger.

I figure, this is basically how Strings work, so the question is, how could one go about acquiring Strings in this fashion? The Strings you get from turning someone on are from their sexual attraction (or confusion) towards you, while those you get from shutting someone down are more representative of a character being intimidated by you rather than respecting you.

I have currently three different possible solutions to this problem:

1) Repurpose the Fae move The Constant Bargain and make it a basic move. The main problems here are that it takes a move away from the Fae, and also the concept I'm going for is about more than just doing things for someone, though that can obviously be one route to social leverage.

2) Just make it a facet of the turn someone on move. Teenage sexuality is complicated and not being sure if you want to be your idol or just want him plays right into that (as I am all too aware). If I go with this option, I might have to turn the move into a bit of a flowchart, asking for player intention when undertaking the maneuver.

3) Make a new move wholecloth. When you curry favor? When you make an impression? Actually I kind of like that second one.

When you make an impression, roll with Hot.