Starting a New Game: What do I Need to Bring?

• 4 Replies
Starting a New Game: What do I Need to Bring?
« on: January 22, 2013, 05:10:02 PM »
I have a new game starting Saturday. I've run AW several times, but am new to DW. I'll have a copy of the rules, dice, player sheets and extra paper.

But what else should I have with me? What would you make sure to have and why? I intend to have them start in media res in a dungeon. Do I need to have it mapped out with notes on monsters and traps?

Thanks!

Re: Starting a New Game: What do I Need to Bring?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2013, 07:36:05 PM »
check out some dungeon starters!
Oh, the things we tell ourselves to feel better about the long, dark nights.

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2013, 11:00:04 PM »
Do I need to have it mapped out with notes on monsters and traps?
I'm not a DW expert mind, but I've run the game several times with mixed results and have learned from my mistakes. I would say "yes" to notes on monsters and traps, but "no" to a mapped out dungeon.

For monsters, your notes can just be a collection of critters (intelligent or otherwise) you think would be cool to have the PCs interact with. Think a little bit about what kind of dungeon you're going to start the PCs in (Wizard's Tower, Goblin Mine, Cultists' Lair, City Sewer, etc.) and just brainstorm some creatures that could be found there. Then grab 'em from the DW book (or make up your own) and put their stats and moves on an index card for easy reference during play.

Traps are similar. Think of some cool or classic traps you'd like to see in this dungeon. Write them down on an index card, along with what they do when activated and any telltale signs of their presence. That should all be fiction, though you can note how much damage they do, or write a custom move for the effect. I find it best to not write down how to get past the trap, as that can blind me to creative solutions the players come up with.