Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - djmalloc

Pages: [1]
Apocalypse World / Road War rules question
« on: October 29, 2016, 10:39:41 PM »
So we've got the Murder Bus loaded with the hardholder's gang (the Scorched) being chased down a ravine by the War Pigs. The War Pigs crew are riding an unarmored dune buggy and a heavily armored sedan.

He wants to use his gang as a weapon to seize by force the vehicles. Do you allow this move without having them board a vehicle first? And if so, do you stack vehicle armor with the armor of the occupants?

I am thinking of allowing it without boarding first but having vehicle armor and occupant armor stack. And saying that if you do manage to board the vehicle first, you can ignore the vehicle's armor.

Only reason I can see to not allow the move in a road war is because someone with low cool is never really going to use the road war moves; they are always going to try to use their guns or gangs in a road war.

How do you all play it?

Apocalypse World / Fronts on the home front?
« on: March 29, 2012, 07:34:33 AM »
Hey all, I am interested to know how other people find their games progressing.

All of my fronts are external from the Hardholder's hold. A biker gang, a warlord in another town, a foreboding landscape, etc.

But the player's tend to spend a lot of time in the hold interacting with NPC's there. So a lot of drama is unfolding there. More so, in fact, than with the entities that constitute my fronts.

I am fine with this and am allowing new fronts to appear that exist solely within the Hardholder's hold.

So this is more of a style question. Do you have the same happen and how do respond? Do you forcefully interject your external fronts into the hold? Or just let the internal-to-the-hold fronts grow and take center stage?

Apocalypse World / Special move on NPCs?
« on: March 12, 2012, 10:10:00 AM »
Hey all, does a player get their special move benefits if they have sex with an NPC or only other PCs? The book says "if you and another character" which seems to imply both. But some of the moves modify Hx which is for PCs only. So now I am thinking its PCs only? Is that right?

brainstorming & development / Spy game hack
« on: March 11, 2012, 06:25:01 AM »
Hey all, I am interested in doing a "spy game" hack of AW. A game like Top Secret, or Spycraft to name a couple.

I have taken a stab at a very rough draft of the hack and its available here:

Its by no means done, I only have the very basics laid out. But if anyone is interested in giving me some feedback I would love to hear it!

Apocalypse World / Daredevil
« on: March 04, 2012, 09:38:16 PM »
Hi there, question on Daredevil.

Does the +1 armor get applied to both the car armor AND the driver?

So for example, lets say the car has 1 armor and the driver has 0 armor. Somebody hits with 3-harm.

Is it:
Car takes 1 harm:
+3 harm
-1 for armor
-1 for daredevil
Driver takes 1 harm:
+1 harm blow through

Or is it:
Car takes 1 harm:
+3 harm
-1 for armor
-1 for daredevil
Driver takes 0 harm:
+1 harm blow through
-1 for daredevil

Apocalypse World / Road wars
« on: March 04, 2012, 03:35:18 AM »
How do you all handle harm in vehicular combat?

I have a driver who is using his vehicle as a weapon in a chase/fight. Reading through the book I see that a glancing hit with a car is 3-harm AP. I was thinking that when using his car to ram another car he would still do 3-harm but not AP with regards to the other car's armor.

Of course if he hits someone who is not in a car then its AP.

How have you handled this situation?

Apocalypse World / Using gang independently from weapon?
« on: February 29, 2012, 12:14:38 AM »
Hi all, can a hardholder use her gang and her gun as a weapon in one round? In other words, can she make two attacks in one round: one with her gang and one with her gun?

Or does having the gang attack assume she is attacking as part of it?

Apocalypse World / Not to be fucked with and AP ammo
« on: February 28, 2012, 03:49:26 AM »
Hey all, quick question.

We have a Gunlugger who has AP ammo and Bloodcrazed.

When he uses Not To Be Fucked With and does damage as a 3 harm small gang, is the damage AP? And does he also get the +1 from Bloodcrazed?

Apocalypse World / Sniper
« on: February 21, 2012, 09:30:53 PM »
Hey all, wanted to get some opinions on how I handled an action by a player. He is a Gunlugger with a silenced sniper rifle (AP ammo).

He's walking the road to a town called Riches when he hears a (medium) chopper gang coming. His pastime is murdering people so he decides to have a little sport. He finds a good hiding place on the side of the road (wearing his Ghillie suit) and starts sniping them.

He wants to try to stay hidden which seems to make sense to me.

So I had him Go Aggro to deal the first damage. Then, Act Under Fire to stay hidden as the gang tries to find where the shots are coming from. If he can stay hidden, he can Go Aggro again without them being able to find him and harm him. Rinse and repeat.

How would you have handled this?

Apocalypse World / 2-armor
« on: February 08, 2012, 04:19:43 AM »
How do you all handle 2-armor? We have a faceless who also has the +1 armor from Rasputin. If they are wearing their 2-armor most of the time they are essentially unstoppable. I was leaning towards making the 2-armor something you would not casually walk around in. As in, you'd need to specifically say "already I am putting that armor on to go cause some trouble". How have you handled it?

Apocalypse World / "Shut out" gig catastrophe?
« on: February 07, 2012, 12:45:45 AM »
Hi all, I am having trouble coming up with ideas for what the "shut out" catastrophe for a gig would be. The rest of them seem pretty easy to imagine...but what so bad about being "stuck with the labor or the goods, and no buyer who’ll make good"? I mean, other than not getting your 1 or 2 barter, what are some interesting moves you have made against the player in this case?

Pages: [1]