Barf Forth Apocalyptica

powered by the apocalypse => Dungeon World => Topic started by: Pseudonatural Kraken on August 07, 2013, 03:29:19 PM

Title: Cantrips and Prodigy
Post by: Pseudonatural Kraken on August 07, 2013, 03:29:19 PM
I realize that much of Dungeon World  is up to the arbitration of the GM but I was wondering how other DMs handled these two issues.

1.) when using a cantrip, does the wizard still roll the [Cast a Spell] move?

2.) have other GMs allowed their wizards to use the Prodigy and Master advanced moves to reduce a spell to a cantrip?
Title: Re: Cantrips and Prodigy
Post by: (not that) adam on August 07, 2013, 05:28:11 PM
DW is up to the arbitration of the group, not the dm's :)

1) yes, cantrips are spells and they are rolled as such.

2) when in doubt, the group decides on what makes sense for everyone at the table. Anyway, yes. If you take prodigy for a level 1 spell, it counts as a level 0 spell/cantrip. However, you can't reduce to cantrip level a spell of level 3 or higher (since both advanced moves reduce its level by 1, a level 3 spell could go as low as level 1, but nothing less).